2017 New Skincare Products

The end of 2016 and beginning of 2017 have been filled with failures and successes in terms of skincare and my makeup routine. Let me start by explaining that I have very fair, sensitive skin. I had acne in high school, but it has cleared up considerably since then. I have some acne scarring, large visible pores, and combination oily skin.

In 2016, I used simple cleansers and moisturizers by CeraVe because I needed products that were gentle and non-irritating. I also used the Clinique Smart Custom-Repair Serum and Clinique All About Eyes Rich under-eye moisturizer. This routine seemed fine, but I noticed that my skin often looked dull, the circles under my eyes were worsening despite ample sleep and the Clinique product, I was still breaking out, and my acne scars were still visible. After some research, I found a few products I wanted to try.

I purchased 100% organic cold pressed Rosehip Seed Oil, Lush Breath of Fresh Air toner, and Lush Grease Lightning. I added all three into my routine at the same time – something you are not supposed to do! Whoops 🙂

Rosehip Seed Oil is raved about on the internet for its anti-aging and healing benefits. I dove right in and began using this in place of my moisturizer. Day and night, I would wash with CeraVe Renewing SA Cleanser, tone with Lush Breath of Fresh Air toner, apply the Rosehip Seed Oil, and spot treat my acne with the Lush Grease Lightening. I really liked how tight – yet moisturized – my normally oily skin was when using the oil instead of moisturizer. I also liked how the oil seemed to give me a “glow” due to its orange-y hue.

However, about a month into starting this new routine, I was having rash-like breakouts on multiple parts of my face. I determined that this was a reaction to the Rosehip Seed Oil. I stopped using it and went back to my CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion and my skin immediately cleared up. After reading more, I found that other people had had similar reactions. While this is a great oil for so many people, like all products, there are inevitably some types of skin that do not agree with it.

The Lush Grease Lightning is really quite amazing. It zaps problem spots overnight, visibly reducing their size and color with just one application. I also like that the toner has worked to keep any excess dirt out of my pores.

In place of the Rosehip Seed Oil, I purchased the Peter Thomas Roth Retinol Fusion PM night serum. It has great reviews and delivers some of the same benefits I was looking for with the Rosehip Seed Oil. I am also using the Peter Thomas Roth Sulfur Masque Acne Treatment Masque once a week, and the Caudalie Deep Cleansing Exfoliator twice a week. More to come on these products once I have had time to try them out.

 

Leave a Reply

