Thoughts at Twenty-One

  • If I have done anything right in this life, it is that I have managed to surround myself with AMAZING people. I feel very lucky to have a great group of close friends, supportive family, and wonderful co-workers (two offices worth!)
  • The world really is at my fingertips now.
  • When I turned 16, I loved the DMV. It was an exciting place that opened the world up to me through the gift of transportation. Now, I hate the DMV.
  • Don’t let the things you love become mundane. For example, I used to love writing. In middle school and high school, I wrote short stories, “novels,” you  name it. My first few years of college, I stopped writing for fun because I was so busy writing for class. I realized that there is a way to enjoy writing again (through blogging), and getting back into my “groove” has even made writing out of necessity less painful.
  • Hobbies should not be chores. If you aren’t enjoying it anymore, don’t hold onto it just because you used to do it, or you “feel” like you should do it. I spent a lot of time in the past three years scolding myself for not making time for the things I used to enjoy, but I have realized that your priorities change over time – and that’s okay!
  • Share your good thoughts with others. What I mean is, if you really admire someone and always think about how thankful you are that they are in your life, tell them! You don’t need an occasion, and you could will make their day.
  • Find friends who challenge you intellectually. The most memorable moments with some of my friends are when we hung around (whether it be in a car, on a couch, in a door way, or whatever) into the late hours of the night to continue a deep conversation.
  • Learn what your friends are passionate about and ask them about it. Share what you are passionate about and let them ask questions.
  • Internships are a great opportunity to meet lots of interesting people and quiz them on their life. As an intern, your coworkers are the people who managed to be successful in doing what you are hoping to do. This is one of the only settings where it is okay for you to be overly inquisitive and even slightly annoying. Your co-workers are probably way cooler than you know, as I am betting their whole personality can’t possible shine through a piece of copy or an email or a powerpoint. Listen to the stories they tell. Even if you (or they) don’t end up staying in the same company, the relationships you make will last.
  • Learning to prioritize is hard. For the longest time, I stressed out about finding a way to balance all of the things I wanted to accomplish in a day. I realized that you can’t do it all, and accepting that helps you to cut out what isn’t necessary and focus on what’s important.
  • Everything you do is a learning experience that can be applied to building your career. Just because you aren’t where you think you want to be doesn’t mean you can’t learn skills that will help you to get where you want to go.
  • You really are what you eat! Finding out about having Celiac disease really taught me that your body tries to tell you when it isn’t happy with what you eat. When you start listening to it and treating it better, you start to look and feel better!
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Robin says:

    This was really interesting to read as I am turning 21 in a few weeks

    1. Samantha Taylor says:

      I’m so glad – thank you for reading. Once you turn 21, maybe you will have some thoughts you feel like writing about! I’ll keep my eye out in case you do 🙂

Leave a Reply

