Happy 4th of July!

I’m writing this on the metro ride to Musee d’Orsay because it’s the first bit of free time I’ve had in a little while. Also, as I’m sure I’ve said before, internet is sparse. For example, I had internet for 30 minutes at 7:30am yesterday and didn’t have it again til this morning.
I’ve seen so many things in Paris now! I’ve done most of the touristy things. I got to see the Eiffel Tower twinkle at night, I’ve been to Champs Élysées and the Arc de Triomphe a couple times. Paris is starting to feel slightly normal and home-like, although walking anywhere still amazes me because of all of the beautiful architecture and mostly great weather.
A couple of friends and I went to the Musee Orangerie the other day and it was amazing. The famous waterlily panoramas are there, as well as many beautiful paintings by various other French artists. I would definitely suggest visiting that museum.
I also made it to the Louvre for the first time. As a student of a French school, I was able to get in for free. I bought an audio tour and set off on my own to explore. It. Is. Huge. I only made it through most of the Greek sculptures, Ancient Egypt, history of the Louvre, and apartments of Napoleon sections. I’m planning to go back and do the rest in pieces so I don’t rush through it.
I think that my favorite pass-time so far has been sitting along the Seine river as the sun sets by the metro station St Michel. It is breath taking, and every sun set plays out in varying vibrant hues. Okay, I know I’m sounding like a mush, but I guess I really am falling for Paris!
Dietary changes: I eat veal almost every day, the yogurt here is super runny but still yummy, lots of bread, lots of crepes (the beurre/sucre (butter/sugar) is my favorite so far), and some interesting veggies that I don’t know what they are.
Another random thing that I’ve noticed is that the way I walk around/interact with people in public is a little different. Here, people aren’t mean (as it may seem), they just keep to themselves. They don’t smile at people they don’t know because that’s weird… I’ve become adjusted to the constant speed-walking and minding-your-own-business attitudes, and I kinda like it.
Since today is the Fourth of July and my roommate Jamie’s birthday AND France is playing in a World Cup Game, a bunch of us are going to grab dinner together. After, I think we are headed to an Australian place where a bunch of Americans hang out. Ironic, I know! Missing all of my friends and family back in America! Happy 4th everyone! ❤️

Leave a Reply

